Zythos Receives the HORAL Lambic Award 2021 on behalf of the Belgian Beer Associations

Zythos Receives the HORAL Lambic Award 2021 on behalf of the Belgian Beer Associations

The High Council for Artisan Lambic Beers (HORAL) awarded the Lambic Award 2021 to the Belgian associations for beer enthusiasts. The award was received on behalf of all organisations by Zythos chairman Freddy Van Daele. The Lambic Award is presented to persons or organisations that have made a special contribution to the defence of the interests of traditional lambic beers and the promotion of Oude Geuze and Oude Kriek. HORAL chairman Gert Christiaens said: “Zythos and many local beer associations have played an important role in the dissemination of correct information about our spontaneously fermented beers.”

“Until the end of 2002, the 'Objectieve Bierproevers' was the link between numerous Belgian beer enthusiasts’ associations. On February 22, 2003, a new national association was officially launched under the name 'Zythos'. This non-profit association aims to preserve and promote the Belgian beer culture in the broadest sense. One of Zythos' explicit actions is the continued attention and support for authentic Belgian beer styles, such as spontaneous fermentation beers. From the outset, Zythos and numerous local beer associations paid attention to Oude Geuze and Oude Kriek. HORAL is very grateful to them,” said Gert Christiaens. “Let's not forget that local associations such as 'De Bierpallieters' and 'O.P.A.' were amongst the founders of HORAL and that members of 'De Lambikstoempers' have been active members of our board since 2000.”

In the past, the Lambic Award has already been awarded to Edgar Winderickx, Hugo Casaer, Tim Webb, Stene Isacsson, Daisy Claes, Dominiek Geers, the Pajot folk group Arjaun, the Lambic.info team, maître d'hôtel Andy De Brouwer and sommelier Yanick Dehandschutter.

Honorary President for Life
Frank Boon was also honoured. He is one of the founders of the High Council for Artisan Lambic Beers and succeeded Armand Debelder as HORAL chairman in 2015. “As a lambic brewer, gueuze blender and wort supplier, Frank Boon maintained very close ties with many gueuze producers. Under his four-year presidency, HORAL's activities have expanded considerably,” explained Gert Christiaens. “In 2019 he passed the gavel to me, but that didn't mean Frank said goodbye to HORAL, on the contrary. Even now that he has passed on the professional torch within Boon Brewery to his sons, Frank continues to look after important matters such as the European Guaranteed Traditional Specialty

dossier and the board can continue to rely of his phenomenal knowledge and experience. That is why the HORAL board insisted on appointing Frank Boon as honorary chairman ad tempus vitae.”

Finally, the non-brewers who are part of the HORAL board were also honoured. Treasurer Joost De Four, secretary Wim De Kelver, board member Wanne Madalijns and PR manager Yves Panneels each received a jeroboam HORAL Megablend 2021 for their many years of support and cooperation.

The High Council for Artisan Lambic Beers (HORAL) was founded in 1997 and unites most lambic breweries and gueuze blenderies in Flemish and Walloon Brabant. Ten producers are members of HORAL: Boon, De Oude Cam, De Troch, Hanssens, Lambiek Fabriek, Lindemans, Mort Subite, Oud Beersel, Tilquin and Timmermans. The main objective of the association is to promote and protect traditional lambic beers, in particular Oude Geuze and Oude Kriek.